Happy Birthday Miss Austen!

As all of you know, today is our beloved Jane Austen’s birthday.  I’m entering a contest hosted by Miss Dashwood of Yet Another Period Drama Blog.  You can read about it here.  And without further ado, here’s my entry:

Dear Miss Austen,

I wish you many happy returns on the occasion of your birthday.  I am so grateful to you for making me one of the happiest women in England.  I applaud your skill of writing in bringing my brother, Henry and Catherine together.  When Catherine was sent away from Northanger Abbey, I was in deep despair, but I should not have worried – everything turned out perfectly in the end.  Thank you for giving me such a kind, generous husband.  The Viscount and I are very happy and he sends his most cordial wishes along with mine as Catherine and Henry do.  Thank you for giving me such a wonderful sister and husband.

Yours ever,
Eleanor Winthrop (formerly Miss Tilney)

So all I say is Happy Birthday, Jane Austen!

 

  1. #1 by Miss Laurie on 2011/12/18 - 5:50 AM

    I adore Eleanor Tilney! Your letter is quite as sweet as she is! Good job! 🙂

    • #2 by Elinor Dashwood on 2011/12/18 - 2:38 PM

      Thank you! Eleanor is one of my favorite minor characters and I’m glad you liked the letter.

Give your opinion to the world!

