Jane Austen Boxed Set and 2005 Pride and Prejudice Review

Complete Jane Austen Boxed Set

For an early New Years gift (we don’t celebrate Christmas), my Dad bought me all the Jane Austen novels in a beautiful boxed set.  Since I don’t own any actual Jane Austen novels (didn’t own! :)) I was really excited and happy to have them all now.  The only problem we had was that Mansfield Park‘s pages were badly crushed but we were able to exchange it for and almost identical copy.  All the novels have blue spines (except M.P. which has a black one), and are paperbacks.

Review of Pride and Prejudice 2005

I recently watched this great movie so of course I wanted to do a review of it.

For starters, the Kiera Knightley and Matthew Macfayden are THE Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy.  I really like Colin Firth’s and Jennifer Ehle’s performance too, but K.K. and M.M. are the best.

The music, the scenery, and the costumes are all wonderful.  Elizabeth does have her hair down more than once (a Regency no-no), and George Wickham looks so creepy that it’s a wonder Elizabeth could believe his story.

But there are several factors that make this my favorite P and P adaption.  For one, Caroline Bingley is better (in my opinion) than the 1995 version.  She’s so venomous and I think she really brings out the worst in her character.  For instance…

Elizabeth Bennet to Mr. Darcy: I dearly love a laugh.

Caroline Bingley (with scorn): A family trait I should think.

The story, even though it is condensed into two hours, follows the book very well.  Lady Catherine (though a bit old for her role) looks a lot more imposing in this version than the Lady Catherine in the 1995 version.  

Again, the music, scenery, everything was wonderful.  The characters were well cast and the plot is interesting and moves swiftly and interestingly.  That is my opinion of the 2005 P and P…and now despise me if you dare.

Thanks for taking time to read this post, and please come again soon.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by e.bristol on 2012/01/23 - 4:54 PM

    At last! I have found a friend! I have always secretly thought (though i would not dare say it in some circles) that the 2005 edition of P&P was better than the 5-hour 1995 one. I thought Mr. Darcy (1995) was very stale and not quite beleivable. Although his lines and all may have been closer to the book, it was easier to believe that Matthew Macfadyen was really in love with Lizzie, than it was to believe Colin Firth was….he just seemed to be repeating his lines…not really meaning it. I did think that Keira Knightley played a bit bit more tomboyish Lizzie than was portrayed in the book, but I rather preffered her over Jennifer Ehle overall. Thanks for posting this! 🙂

    • #2 by loverofausten on 2012/01/23 - 5:18 PM

      I’m happy to have found someone who actually prefers the 2005 version over the 1995 version. I always thought that every Janeite liked the miniseries better. Although I can’t agree with you about Colin Firth, I do agree that it’s easier to believe the Matthew Macfayden is in love with Lizzie.

  1. Emma 2009 Review « Elinor and Emma
  2. Emma 2009 Review « BetweenTheCovers
  3. A Spirited Discussion « BetweenTheCovers
  4. Pride and Prejudice 2005 Banner « BetweenTheCovers
  5. Little Dorrit 2008 Movie Review « BetweenTheCovers
  6. Join the Revolution! « BetweenTheCovers

Give your opinion to the world!

