The Inheritance

The Inheritance

Author: Louisa May Alcott

Genre: Historical Fiction

My rating on a 1 – 10 scale: 7

Type: Juvenilia

Time Period: Mid-1800’s

Main Characters: Edith Adelon

My Review: This is the first full-fledged novel that L.M.A. wrote.  She was only seventeen when she penned this novel and it is obvious that it is an early work.  Nevertheless, it is very interesting and well written.  Edith Adelon is a poor governess with a mystery surrounding her birth.  When she saves the life of Amy, her pupil, she is given a higher place in the heart of the family.  When a poor stranger gives her a mysterious parcel, which reveals her true identity, will Edith claim her rightful inheritance?

My overall opinion:  With its flowery language and lots of description, the Inheritance is not the most enjoyable book to read, but it does give a good story and interesting characters.  I’ve read it several times.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by travel essentials for men on 2017/04/13 - 10:29 AM

    Excellent post.Never knew this, thanks for letting me know.

  2. #2 by cabin bed on 2013/06/09 - 12:42 AM

    Good article. I will be experiencing some of these issues as well.

    .

  3. #3 by okispace.com on 2013/01/03 - 12:35 PM

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this blog
    with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  1. The Inheritance 1997 Review « BetweenTheCovers

Give your opinion to the world!

