BRAVO!

One of my favorite Jane Austen bloggers amazed and delighted me today.  Miss Laurie of Old-Fashioned Charm put this up in answer to a Jane Austen tag question.

Which is your least favorite JA novel, and why? (Everybody posts about their favorites… I want to know what’s at the bottom of your list!)
Probably my least favorite novel would have to be Pride and Prejudice. “What!?!” you ask. “Are you CRAZY!?!?!?” Well let’s just agree that I am. 😉
I’m not sure why it’s my least favorite really. Perhaps it’s a combination of a lot of little pet peeves I have.
I don’t really identify with Elizabeth Bennet, even though I admirer her. I have quite a different personality than her (I’m more like an Elinor Dashwood) so on occasion her more out-going and feisty personality gets a bit tedious to me. Mr. Darcy is my least favorite hero mostly because although he is a gentleman he can also be quite a snob at times (sorry!). Also Mrs. Bennet, Lydia, Wickham and Mr. Collins drive me crazy! Yes they are funny but they also can make me mad (especially Lydia!). One definite reason that P&P has less appeal to me now is that I’ve probably watched too many film adaptations too often. Also it seems that many people have copied the story line of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy’s romance in other books and films. I’m a bit sorry that P&P gets a lot of the attention from media and fans when Jane Austen wrote five other amazing novels. Sometimes I think that just once I’d like to say “I love Jane Austen. You know, she’s the author of…” without having to mention Pride and Prejudice.
Now, all that being said (and lest you think me completely horrid), I would still adore Jane Austen if the only novel she had written was Pride and Prejudice. My love for Jane Austen’s work as a whole far outweighs my love of every other author. Picking a least favorite Austen novel is very difficult!   

This is exactly my opinion.  It conicides with my answer to the same question:

This is really tough!  I love all of her novels, but my least favorite would be…Pride and Prejudice *united Janeite gasp*.  The way I see it, Pride and Prejudice has been so dramatized, made over, etc. that most people lose sight of the actual book itself.  Don’t worry, I really enjoy P and P.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Maria Elisabeth on 2012/01/10 - 9:36 PM

    That’s sort of what I feel like. I like P&P and it used to be my favorite, but people ooh and aah over it and forget all of Jane Austen’s other books.

    • #2 by loverofausten on 2012/01/10 - 9:43 PM

      Don’t get me wrong – I like P and P and I enjoy reading it but…that’s the problem – the but.

  1. The Silent Dialogue | The Collaborative Writer

Give your opinion to the world!

