Jane Austen: A Life

Jane Austen

Author: Claire Tomalin

Genre: Biography

My rating on a 1 – 10 scale: 10

Type: Non-fiction

Time Period: Written in modern times.

Main Characters: Jane Austen

My Review: Jane Austen: A Life is the best biography on Jane Austen I have ever read (and I’ve read several).  The biography is written in a semi-story format.  Claire Tomalin takes myths, traditions, and hard facts about Jane Austen a makes a highly entertaining biography.  It has a whole chapter devoted to Mansfield Park – “Inside Mansfield Park” which I enjoyed.  I think I can say that M.P. is my favorite Jane Austen novel.

My overall opinion:  A great book, entertaining read, and a good authority on Jane Austen and her family.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Give your opinion to the world!

