Lady Vernon and Her Daughter

Lady Vernon and Her Daughter: A Jane Austen Novel

Author: Jane Rubino and Caitlen Rubino-Bradway

Genre: Novel

My rating on a 1 – 10 scale: 5

Type: Historical Fiction

Time Period: Late 1700’s 

Main Characters: Lady Vernon, Miss Vernon

My Review: I recently read Lady Susan by Jane Austen, so I borrowed this book from the library.  Even in it’s letter form, Lady Susan had been entertaining, so I had high hopes for this book.  Boring.  I got through the first twenty chapters to where it really starts following the book (the other chapters had been background).  I did like the middle, then it got boring again, and then the last few chapters were interesting.  They included letters throughout the book – some from Lady Susan, others that weren’t.  If you are a die-hard Austen fan and you have lots of time on your hands, this book is for you.  Includes excerpts from Lady Susan.  I’m reading a continuation of The Watsons right now, and I hope to give it a more favorable report.  

My overall opinion:  A (in my opinion) bit boring.  I probably won’t read it again, but it was interesting enough.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mary C on 2012/01/20 - 4:25 PM

    Loved this book. Loved it. For my money (i paid for it did not borrow) it was one of the two best Austen adaptations in terms of style and plotting. The other was ‘A Match for Mary Bennet’. I am sure that a lot of people who go through the opening of Sense and Sensibility or a lot of Mansfield Park and find it ‘boring’. The test for me is – does it sound like Austen? If Austen was remaking Lady Susan as she did with Elinor and Marianne (that became Sense and Sensibility) is this what she would do? Does the author keep to matters that Austen would include instead of taking license? The answer for me in all cases was ‘yes’

    • #2 by loverofausten on 2012/01/20 - 9:37 PM

      Thanks for your opinion. I do admit that the ‘tone’ was very Austen. Or so it seemed. But to me it sounded forced, it was obvious (to me) that the author(s) were striving to sound like Jane Austen and in my opinion they failed.

Give your opinion to the world!

