2012 Charles Dickens Reading Challenge

Miss Abby from Newly Impassioned Soul is hosting a Charles Dickens Reading Challenge since 2012 is the 200th anniversary of his birth.  She challenges you to read 3, 5, or 10 of Dickens’ books.  I have decided to read five books seeing as I am only just now being introduced to his work.

1.  Oliver Twist – I’ve already started reading this and it is really interesting.

Oliver Twist (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

2.  Great Expectations – I’ve read an abridged version of this novel and I enjoyed it so I think it’s time I read the full version.

Great Expectations (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

3.  Little Dorrit – I am going to be watching the miniseries in a few days, so I thought I should read the book too.

Little Dorrit

4.  The Olde Curiosity Shop – I’ve heard of this book and it sounded interesting.

The Old Curiosity Shop

5.  Our Mutual Friend – This is my mom’s favorite Dickens so I want to see for myself what it’s like.

Our Mutual Friend (Dodo Press)

I hope that you will join the challenge – Dickens’ books are well worth it.  

For more info on Dickens’ 200th birthday check this website.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Azevedo on 2012/01/18 - 10:46 PM

    I’ve only read Oliver Twist and I absolutely adored it. I read it 3 or 4 years ago and I still have engraved in my mind some of his descriptions. I’m now 20% in Tale of Two Cities and despite one or two dozens of pages that took me to get reacquainted with his style, I’m now loving it!
    I wrote a small post related to it here, if you’re interested:
    http://azevedosreviews.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/what-would-dickens-say-about-my-job-options/

    • #2 by loverofausten on 2012/01/18 - 11:34 PM

      Great post! I enjoyed reading it. I tried reading a Tale of Two Cities once, but it went over my head. Maybe someday I might try to read it again, but for now I’m staying away. 🙂

      • #3 by Azevedo on 2012/01/19 - 11:01 AM

        Once I got by the beginning it really took my breath away. It isn’t easy, and the fact that English is not my native language makes it even harder (thank God for Kindle’s embedded dictionary!) but every chapter that goes by makes me feel rewarded!
        I’m also aiming for 5 Dickens books this year:
        1. Tale of Two Cities
        2. David Copperfield
        3. The Pickwick Papers
        4. Our Mutual Friend
        5. Nicholas Nickelby
        I have them all on my shelves, but I think I’ll read the Kindle version! 🙂

        • #4 by loverofausten on 2012/01/19 - 8:54 PM

          I think that the problem I have is that if I don’t understand the first few chapters, I give up to the book. 😦

          I like all your choices, but I never could understand David Copperfield (not even an abridged edition).

  2. #5 by bibliopirate on 2012/01/18 - 10:03 PM

    I might have to join in this challenge, I haven’t read Dickens since he was required in school.

    • #6 by loverofausten on 2012/01/18 - 10:13 PM

      His books are very entertaining so it would be fun as well as educational to read them.

  1. Oliver Twist « BetweenTheCovers

Give your opinion to the world!

