Join the Revolution!

Pride and Prejudice 2005 is THE BEST P and P adaption.  However, many bloggers do not share my opinion.  “1995 one is the best…Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth are the best…”  Whatever.  You and I know that P and P 2005 is the best, but until now we’ve kept it a secret, afraid to let the truth out and get bombarded by angry 1995 fans.  No more.

I am starting a revolution only for the stoutest and bravest of P and P 2005 lovers.  If you love the 2005 version display one of these buttons on your blog or website.  Tell the world that Pride and Prejudice 2005 is the best.

When you put one of these up on your blog please link back to this post or the page that I’m going to create to go with this post.  I want to see how many of you out there are brave enough to do this.

I got the photos for the buttons from here.

Please feel free to e-mail me your thoughts at kraftyhorselover@hotmail.com.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by aiezev on 2017/11/08 - 12:12 AM

    Yes! The 2005 version captured the aura of the book and characters very well. The BBC version still did quite well. Kudos to Colin Firth’s acting, but the characterization in which the movie has for a darcy — not so much. The actor just really compensated for it. More for their version of Elizabeth – I find it quite bland, tame and KK’s EB too lively on some parts. To round it up, both Darcys exceptional (tho I am more partial to MM) and the Lizzys fluctuating.

    BBC has its following because they are the most authentic adaptation (scene per scene). But while 2005 film altered on some courses, I actually find well-placed. Like the book came alive and grew – evolved.

    So- yep. 2005 version for me.

  2. #2 by Maria Elisabeth on 2012/02/09 - 7:29 PM

    Exactly! There is nothing better than a good discussion.

  3. #3 by Maria Elisabeth on 2012/02/06 - 11:09 AM

    I, ahem! respectfully disagree on which adaptation is the best. But to each her own, right? Now will you tell us why you like 2005 P&P better than the 1995 P&P? Because I love arguing, *coughs again* I mean debating.

    • #4 by loverofgreatbooks on 2012/02/06 - 5:03 PM

      The reason I think 2005 is the best is a manyfold reason.

      1. Kiera Knightley has all the vigor, wit, and playfulness that Elizabeth Bennet should have – and fine eyes to boot.

      2. Matt Macfayden is the perfect Mr. Darcy. The right mixture of shyness (as in the book – “You are right, none of us perform to strangers.”) and pride, mixed with a passionate love for Elizabeth Bennet.

      3. The cimeotography and music are delicous and beautiful. I love listening to the soundtrack and the scenery (Liz on top of the world.) is breathtaking.

      4. IT’S THE BEST!

      Now despise me if you dare.

      • #5 by Maria Elisabeth on 2012/02/08 - 7:02 PM

        Indeed I do not dare, but I will argue with you anyways.

        1: Kiera Knightley does have vigor and wit, but to me she has too much modern ‘rebelliousness’ and is a little too rude sometimes. Elizabeth is witty and sometimes borders on the uncivil, but not downright rude. She does have fine eyes, but then, so does Jennifer Ehle.

        2: Matthew Macfayden’s Mr. Darcy gets the shyness very well, but, in my opinion, not the pride. I’m trying to remember a single instance where what Elizabeth thought was his pride can’t be traced to something else. In this he doesn’t seem to have ‘no improper pride’, he has no pride. And it makes Elizabeth’s opinion of his seem even more ridiculously ill-founded than it actually is.

        3: I won’t disagree with you on this. The scenery is beautiful, although it annoyed me that to put in the scenery they changed the settings of many of the scenes. Isn’t Jane Austen good enough for them? I listen to the soundtrack regularly, and love it almost as much as the 1995 soundtrack.

        4: It……….. isn’t. 😛

        5: WARNING: TOTAL RANDOMNESS AHEAD There’s one thing in the proposal scene I don’t like. Matthew Macfayden’s shirt. It isn’t even done up, and he’s not wearing a cravat. (I have this thing about cravats, actually.) What the use of a proposal scene if the hero’s not wearing a cravat? END OF RANDOMNESS

        • #6 by booklover on 2012/02/08 - 7:44 PM

          I will of course respect your views but I won’t agree with them.

          I must confess that I never saw any bad manners of Lizzy (examples, please). But of course when you think that P and P 1995 is the best you just look for faults (sorry, just saying). Matt Macfayden is not as full of pride as Colin Firth but he does have his moments (the first proposal, when Elizabeth and him are talking at Netherfield, etc.).

          I will admit that P and P 2005 does have some faults.

          1. Pigs in the Bennet’s house? No way!

          2. Mr. Bingley would never go into Jane’s bedroom even to see how she was doing and even if Elizabeth was there. In those days, a lady’s reputation was everything.

          4. Elizabeth Bennet often has her hair down – another Regency no-no.

          However, I still will stick to my opinions and you may stick to yours.

          Good day, Madam.

          P.S. About that total bit of randomness, I don’t blame you. Cravats – oh my! But, I still enjoyed that scene very much…

          • #7 by Maria Elisabeth on 2012/02/08 - 9:47 PM

            The reason I wasn’t focusing on the good points of both movies is because they have so many and that would get really beside the point.

            Argument aside, I will confess that I did love the 2005 P&P. Not as much as the 1995 one, but still quite a bit. And I’m even putting one of your buttons on my sidebar! (After saying why I didn’t like as much? Am I crazy? Yes :))

            And about the cravats, I know this is beside the point, but have you watched The Scarlet Pimpernel 1982. The cravats are ooooh, so amazing. (As is the rest of the movie, except for two scenes that are easy to skip) I’m linking to my blog devoted to The Scarlet Pimpernel, where I hope I will post a review in a few days.

            • #8 by booklover on 2012/02/08 - 10:29 PM

              I haven’t watched the Scarlet Pimpernel but I hope to read the book(s) soon. I’ve checked out your S.P. blog and I quite like it.

              Thanks for putting up one of my buttons on your blog – and thanks for not turning your comments into nasty ones.

              P.S. I quite liked the invigorating discussion we’ve had.

  1. A Spirited Discussion « BetweenTheCovers

Give your opinion to the world!

