Literary Heroine Blog Event

Kellie at Accordion to Kellie is hosting a Literary Heroine Blog Party.  It’s taken me forever to get all the questions answered but here it is.  Hope you enjoy reading this.

What, to you, forms the essence of a true heroine?

A girl who isn’t afraid to speak her mind…a true lady, sweet and kind but with spirit.

Share (up to) four heroines of literature that you most admire and relate to. 
 
Elinor Dashwood (Sense and Sensibility) – I don’t think I can ever match up to Elinor but I admire her very much and I think that I’m the most level-headed of my siblings.
 
Amy Dorrit (Little Dorrit) – What’s not to like about Amy?  She sweet and steadfast and so many other good qualities.
 
Jane Eyre (Jane Eyre) – I like Jane.  She’s not the typical, ultra-pretty heroine.  I like her very much.
 
Estella Havisham (Great Expectations) – I don’t exactly admire Estella and I hope that I don’t relate to her but I like her anyway despite the way she treats Pip.  Besides, if you have someone like Miss Havisham taking care of you, how are you expected to turn out?

Five of your favorite historical novels?

Mansfield Park (Jane Austen)
 
Jane Eyre (Charlotte Brontë)
 
Great Expectations (Charles Dickens)
 
Little Dorrit (Charles Dickens)
 
Emma (Jane Austen)
 
Out of those five books who is your favorite main character and why?
 
Amy Dorrit – see above
 
Out of those five books who is your favorite secondary character and why?
 
Jane Fairfax – elegant and refined.
 
If you were to plan out your dream vacation, where would you travel to – and what would you plan to do there? 
 
I’d travel to England to a little village called Chawton and visit the Jane Austen museum.
 

What is your favorite time period and culture to read about? 

Regency England wins hands down.

You have been invited to perform at the local charity concert. Singing, comedy, recitation – what is your act comprised of?

I hate performing in public so I’d probably turn down the invitation. 

If you were to attend a party where each guest was to portray a heroine of literature, who would you select to represent? 

Catherine Morland.

What are your sentiments on the subject of chocolate? 

Wonderful!  Milk chocolate (especially Galaxy ©) is my favorite but I also like dark if it isn’t too dark.

Favorite author(s)? 

Jane Austen
 
Charles Dickens
 
Charlotte Brontë
 
Amanda Grange
 
Those are just a few of my favorites.

Besides essentials, what would you take on a visiting voyage to a foreign land?

My set of Jane Austen novels

My Jane Austen Anthology – Jane Austen Made Me Do It

My writing notebook

In which century were most of the books you read written? 

England

In your opinion, the ultimate hero in literature is…

Elinor Dashwood
 
Describe your ideal dwelling place. 

Where I’m living now…it’s a secret…

Sum up your fashion style in five words.

Tailored.  Simple.  Mix-and-Match.  Purple.  Denim.

Have you ever wanted to change a character’s name?

No…never.

In your opinion, the most dastardly villain of all literature is… 

Riguad, Blandois…Whatever you want to call him.

Three favorite Non-fiction books?

Jane Austen: A Celebration of her Life and Works

Spirit of the Horse

The Jane Austen Handbook

Your duties met for the day, how would you choose to spend a carefree summer afternoon?

Writing and listening to beautiful music.


, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Teen Scholarship – Annual Signet Classics Essay Writing Contest « TeenGirlsthatWrite

Give your opinion to the world!