The Classics Club

Jillian is starting a Classics Club.  The challenge is to read a minimum of 50 classics in a maximum of five years.  I plan to read 50.  I’m going to re-read a lot of books (which is perfectly alright with her).  She put a big list of rules and regulations but I just want to read the classics.  I will post five different posts at different times with ten book titles in them.  Once I’m done the ten books, I will post a new list.  I think it will be easier to keep track of everything that way.

Here are my first ten books.

Northanger Abbey (Jane Austen)

Persuasion (Jane Austen)

Bleak House (Charles Dickens)

Jane Eyre and Wuthering Hights (The Brontës)

Little Dorrit (Charles Dickens)

Anne of Green Gables (Lucy Maud Montgomery) 

The Inheritance (Louisa May Alcott)

Little Women and Little Men (Louisa May Alcott)

If you have any other classics that you think I should add to my list, just let me know.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jillian ♣ on 2012/03/09 - 9:57 PM

    I wantedyou to know I’ve tried to update the main page a bit for the event, to make it more user-friendly. I thought up the event and slapped together the event page, so it was a bit confusing, I think. 🙂

    — # —

    The club basics:

    choose 50+ classics
    list them at your blog
    choose a reading completion goal date up to five years in the future and note that date on your classics list of 50+ titles
    come back here and link your classics list to this blog according to these instructions
    write about each title on your list as you finish reading it, and link it to your main list
    when you’ve written about every single title, come back here and reply to your initial comment when you joined, to let us know you won (instructions when you achieve your challenge)!

    That’s the quick version!! 🙂

    • #2 by booklover on 2012/03/09 - 11:12 PM

      Thanks a lot for simplifying it! All the rules were proving a bit daunting.

      Have a great day!

      • #3 by Jillian ♣ on 2012/03/10 - 7:48 PM

        No problem, and you too! 🙂

  2. #4 by Alison on 2012/03/09 - 9:57 PM

    I hope you like Anne of Green Gables! I’m reading it right now for a book club on my blog and I’m loving it! I’m hoping to get to Little Women at some point. It sounds like fun.

  3. #5 by Jillian ♣ on 2012/03/09 - 8:27 PM

    Hi! Great picks! I especially love Little Women! I’d suggest Sense & Sensibility too, but I see you’ve already read it. Have you read The Secret Garden? I highly recommend it. 🙂

    If you decide to link up with us over at the club, can you link to a page that will eventually have all your 50 title choices on it? The purpose of linking up all the titles on one page for the club is to make finding one another’s lists easy. Having five different posts is understandable but to centrally locate it on a page would work better for the group.

    (I’m not sure if you were planning to officially join, but in case.)

    Anyway, have fun!! 😀

    • #6 by booklover on 2012/03/09 - 8:43 PM

      It shouldn’t take me long to compile my complete list and when I do, I’ll be sure to join and link up.

      I have read The Secret Garden – one of my favorites. I like The Little Princess too. Have you read it?

      Have a great day!

      • #7 by Jillian ♣ on 2012/03/09 - 8:44 PM

        Nope, not A Little Princess yet. I really, really want to and intend to soon.

        I’m glad you’ll be joining when you’re ready. 😀

  4. #8 by cellenbogen on 2012/03/09 - 8:21 PM

    I’m in. My summer plan already included The Awakening and Wuthering Heights – both re-reads. Other ideas?

    • #9 by booklover on 2012/03/09 - 8:45 PM

      Wuthering Hights is definitely on my TBR list – I’ll be posting it in one of my lists. Have you read Jane Eyre?

      • #10 by cellenbogen on 2012/03/12 - 3:09 AM

        Yep. I’m an English teacher; it’s practically a job requirement.

Give your opinion to the world!

