Charles Dickens Birthday Week Tag Questions

Old-Fashioned Charm

As you all know from my post, Miss Laurie of Old-Fashioned Charm is hosting a Charles Dickens Birthday Week.  Here are the tag questions for CDBW.

1. How were you first introduced to Charles Dickens?  My first introduction to Dickens was watching the old black and white A Christmas Carol with my dad on Christmas eve.

2. Which Charles Dickens novels and stories have you read? Which are your favorites?  I have read Oliver Twist, an adaption of Great Expectations, and an adaption of Tale of Two Cities.  My favorite was Great Expectations.

3. Which Charles Dickens novel(s) do you most want to read?  Little Dorrit!

4. What are your favorite Charles Dickens quotes (up to three)?  “No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.”  “Train up a fig tree in the way it should go, and when you are old sit under the shade of it.”  “It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to, than I have ever known.”

5. Which Charles Dickens film adaptations are in your top three favorites? (If you’ve never seen one which three film adaptations do you most want to see?)  Oliver!, Little Dorrit, and I want to watch Bleak House

6. Who are your Top 3 favorite Dickens heroines? and why?  Amy Dorrit first and foremost – she’s so sweet and kind.  Estella Havisham – I don’t really know why I like her.  Lucy Manette – a courageous heroine.

7. Who are your Top 3 favorite Dickens heroes? and why?  Arthur Clenam – very gentlemanly and polite, Oliver Twist – he’s a very interesting character, Pip – sort of shy but in a nice way.

8. Which three Dickens villains do you most love to hate?  I wouldn’t say I love to hate them but here are my top three Dickenson villains- Fagin, Bill Sikes, and Rigaud.

9. Which Dickens characters (up to three) do you find the most funny?  Um…I can’t say that I have many that I find truly funny – just one – Mr. Casby’s daughter, Flora Finching…(“But we will not talk of those dear departed days, Arthur…or should I say Doyce and Clenam.”  I’m quoting from the movie.)

10. If you could authorize a new film adaptation of one of Dickens’s novels, which would it be and why?  I actually have no book I would like to see made or re-made into a film.

11. If you could have lunch with Charles Dickens today, what question would you most like to ask him?  If he ever got writer’s block…seriously!  

12. Have you ever read a Dickens biography or watched a biographical film about him?  Sadly, no…but I hope to soon.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Ms. Kathleen on 2012/02/12 - 11:37 PM

    You have some great quotes! I loved Bleak House and need to see Little Dorrit. Glad I stopped by. Have a great week 🙂

  2. #2 by oldfashionedcharm on 2012/02/07 - 9:26 PM

    Thanks for doing the tag, it was fun to read your answers!
    Love the quotes you mentioned, especially the fig tree one! haha
    I’m reading A Tale of Two Cities right now and look forward to finding out more about Lucie Manette, even Dickens’ description of her is very lovely!
    Flora Finching always makes me laugh too! 🙂
    I don’t think Dickens ever got writer’s block, or very rarely. He worked constantly! I quite lack his powers of concentration!
    Do you mind if I link to your answers in the conclusion post this week?
    ~Miss Laurie

Give your opinion to the world!